Commencement Committee

Commencement photo

Commencement Committee Is Excited To Plan Your Big Day!

Los Angeles Southwest College’s Commencement Committee is responsible for the planning and the organization of the college’s commencement ceremony. The committee is made up of a diverse collection of faculty, staff, students, and administrators from various departments on campus.


The Commencement Committee plans, organizes, and executes Los Angeles Southwest College’s annual commencement ceremony in June.


The goal of the Commencement Committee is to celebrate student success and to ensure a memorable and meaningful experience for graduating students and their families.

Ms. Blanca Barajas – Director, CalWORKS Program

Mr. Johnel Barron – Student Recruitment Coordinator *

Ms. Muniece Bruton – Financial Aid Manager

Ms. Rahmani Byley – Administrative Assistant, Student Services Division *

Ms. Kimberly Carpenter – Registrar *

Mr. Sidney Cosby – TRiO Educational Talent Search Manager

Dr. Ralph Davis – Dean, Student Services *

Mr. Ben Demers - Public Information Officer *

Dr. Tangelia Alfred-Gentles; Dean, Natural Science, Health, Kinesiology, Mathematics, Nursing and Curriculum *

Dr. Howard Irvin - Vice President, Student Services *

Ms. Jeanette Magee – Dean, Special Programs & Services *

Mr. Preston Mortley – Director of College Facilities *

Mr. Courtney Pierce – Operations Manager *

Ms. Jennifer Shetland – College and Event Venue Coordinator *

Ms. Chauncine Stewart – Executive Assistant; Office of the President *

Mr. Ronald Tatum – College Store Supervisor *

Ms. Yvette Tucker – Counselor/Umoja Program

Dr. Katrin Wilson – Counseling Chair/Counselor/Articulation Officer *

 · = Essential

LASC's Commencement Committee's Operating Agreement can be viewed here